Coordinating Council on Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
bottom portion of seal HomeAbout the CouncilMember InformationMeetingsResourcesContact Us

Federal Agency Ex Officio Members image

U.S. Department of Justice

Attorney General of the United States
William Barr

Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
Caren Harp

Corporation for National and Community Service
Barbara Stewart

U.S. Department of Education
Betsy DeVos

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Alex M. Azar II

U.S. Department of Homeland Security
Kevin K. McAleenan
Acting Secretary

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
Dr. Benjamin S. Carson, Sr., M.D.

U.S. Department of Labor
Patrick Pizzella
Acting Secretary

Office of National Drug Control Policy
Executive Office of the President
Jim Carroll

Federal Agency Affiliate Members image

U.S. Department of Agriculture
Sonny Perdue

U.S. Department of Defense
Dr. Mark T. Esper

U.S. Department of the Interior
David Bernhardt

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services
Elinore McCance-Katz

Practitioner Members

Maura Corrigan
Jim St. Germain
Adele L. Grubbs
Jacob Horowitz
Pamela Rodriguez
Deborah Schumacher
David A. Tapp
William Thorne
Francisco Villarruel


Quarterly Meeting Agenda

Monday, March 29, 1999
1 p.m. to 3 p.m.

Office of Justice Programs
810 Seventh Street, NW.
Third Floor Main Conference Room
Washington, DC

Please note: a picture I.D. is required for admittance.

1:00-1:10 Welcome and Introductions
The Honorable Janet Reno, Chair
Attorney General
1:10-1:55 New Issue: Resiliency Factors and Delinquency Prevention
Suzanne Stutman, M.A., M.S.W.
President, Institute for Mental Health Initiatives
Carolyn Smith, Ph.D., Associate Professor
University at Albany, State University of New York
1:55-2:10 Issue Update: Lead Poisoning and Delinquency
Robin Delany-Shabazz, Coordinator
Child Abuse and Neglect Programs, OJJDP
2:10-2:25 New Issue: Juveniles, Capital Punishment, and Sentencing
Larry K. Brendtro, Practitioner Member
President, Reclaiming Youth International
2:25-2:40 Issue Update: Working Group on Child Maltreatment and Juvenile Delinquency
The Honorable Michael W. McPhail, Practitioner Member, County and Youth Court Judge of Forrest County, Mississippi
2:40-2:55 Issue Update: Missing and Exploited Children's Program
Ron Laney, Director, Missing and Exploited Children's Program, OJJDP
2:55-3:00 Closing Remarks
John J. Wilson, Acting Vice Chair, Deputy Administrator, Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP)

Back to Meeting Archives