Coordinating Council on Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
bottom portion of seal HomeAbout the CouncilMember InformationMeetingsResourcesContact Us

Federal Agency Ex Officio Members image

U.S. Department of Justice

Attorney General of the United States
William Barr

Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
Caren Harp

Corporation for National and Community Service
Barbara Stewart

U.S. Department of Education
Betsy DeVos

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Alex M. Azar II

U.S. Department of Homeland Security
Kevin K. McAleenan
Acting Secretary

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
Dr. Benjamin S. Carson, Sr., M.D.

U.S. Department of Labor
Patrick Pizzella
Acting Secretary

Office of National Drug Control Policy
Executive Office of the President
Jim Carroll

Federal Agency Affiliate Members image

U.S. Department of Agriculture
Sonny Perdue

U.S. Department of Defense
Dr. Mark T. Esper

U.S. Department of the Interior
David Bernhardt

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services
Elinore McCance-Katz

Practitioner Members

Maura Corrigan
Jim St. Germain
Adele L. Grubbs
Jacob Horowitz
Pamela Rodriguez
Deborah Schumacher
David A. Tapp
William Thorne
Francisco Villarruel


Quarterly Meeting Agenda

Tuesday, February 3, 1998
2 p.m. to 4 p.m.

White House Conference Center
Truman Room, 726 Jackson Place, NW.
Please Note: Registration is in the Eisenhower Room
Washington, DC

Please note: a picture I.D. is required for admittance.

2:00 - 2:10

Welcome and Council Updates
Shay Bilchik, Vice Chair
2:10 - 2:15

Remarks on behalf of the Attorney General
The Honorable Raymond C. Fisher, Associate Attorney General
2:15 - 3:00

"Breaking the Link Between Child Maltreatment and Juvenile Delinquency"
Michael Petit, Deputy Director, Child Welfare League of America
Ruth W. Massinga, Chief Executive Officer, The Casey Family Program
3:00 - 3:15

HHS Secretarial Initiative on Youth Substance Abuse Prevention
The Honorable Donna E. Shalala, Ph.D., Secretary, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
3:15 - 3:30

1998 National Drug Control Strategy
The Honorable Barry R. McCaffrey, Director, Office of National Drug Control Policy
3:30 - 3:55

National Substance Abuse Coalition
R. William Ide, Chair, American Bar Association Standing Committee on Substance Abuse
Dr. Percy Wootten, President, American Medical Association
3:55 - 4:00

Summary and Closing Remarks
Shay Bilchik, Vice Chair

Back to Meeting Archives