Coordinating Council on Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
HomeAbout the CouncilCharterMember InformationMeetingsMeetingsResourcesGrant ProgramsContact Us

Federal Agency Ex Officio Members image

US Department of Justice
Loretta E. Lynch
Attorney General

Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
Robert Listenbee

Corporation for National and Community Service
Wendy Spencer
Chief Executive Officer

U.S. Department of Education
John King

U. S. Department of Health and Human Services
Sylvia Mathews Burwell

U.S. Department of Homeland Security
Sarah R. Saldaña
Immigration and Customs Enforcement

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
Julián Castro

U.S. Department of Labor
Thomas E. Perez

Office of National Drug Control Policy
Executive Office of the President
Michael Botticelli

Federal Agency Affiliate Members image

U.S. Department of Agriculture
Thomas Vilsack

U.S. Department of Defense
Ashton B. Carter

U.S. Department of the Interior
Sally Jewell

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
Kana Enomoto
Principal Deputy Administrator

Practitioner Members

Maura Corrigan
Jim St. Germain
Adele L. Grubbs
Jacob Horowitz
Gordon A. Martin, Jr.
Pamela Rodriguez
Deborah Schumacher
William Thorne
Francisco Villarruel
Richard Vincent


About the Council

The federal Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Act (JJDPA) established the Coordinating Council on Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention as an independent body within the executive branch of the federal government. Active in some form since 1976, the Council's primary functions are to coordinate federal juvenile delinquency prevention programs, federal programs and activities that detain or care for unaccompanied juveniles, and federal programs relating to missing and exploited children. In accordance with the Federal Advisory Committee Act, the Council meets in public meetings in which members discuss activities to facilitate and support cross-agency coordination.

The Council's chair is the U.S. Attorney General. Its Vice-Chair is the Administrator of the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP).

In accordance with the JJDPA, the Council is currently comprised of nine ex officio members and their designees, as well as nine non-federal practitioner members who are named by the President and Congress. The ex officio members are the Attorney General; the Secretaries of Health and Human Services, Interior, Labor, Education, and Housing and Urban Development; the Administrator of OJJDP; the Director of the Office of National Drug Control Policy; the Chief Executive Officer of the Corporation for National and Community Service; and the Assistant Secretary for Immigration and Customs Enforcement, Department of Homeland Security. In addition, four affiliate federal agencies are represented on the Council: the Departments of Agriculture, Defense, Interior, through their respective Secretaries and designees, and HHS' Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), through its Administrator. The President may also designate other key federal officials with significant decision-making authority to serve on the Council.

For additional information on the Council, including detailed membership information and past meeting agendas and summaries, please refer to the Council's website at Recent topics addressed by the Council include juvenile justice reentry, school disciplinary practices, the Affordable Care Act, national juvenile justice systems reform, and the findings of the Attorney General's Advisory Committee on American Indian/Alaska Native Children Exposed to Violence.

Home | About the Council | Member Information | Meetings | Resources | Contact Us | Site Map | Important Notices | OJJDP Home

This Web site is maintained with assistance from the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention,
a component of the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice
and adheres to its Privacy Policy.